Australian Olympic and Paralympic Rowing Teams

Published Wed 03 Jul 2024

The Australian Olympic Committee has selected a 37-strong team across nine boats to contest the Olympic rowing regatta, with Paralympics Australia selecting a squad of 8 athletes across three boats at the Paralympic regatta, all at Vaires-sur-Marne Nautical Stadium in Paris. 


Our 4 Queenslanders,  Caitlin Cronin (W4x), Lily Triggs (W4-), Patrick Holt (M2-) and Kate Rowan (reserve) in the Australian Olympic Team are amongst the Team.


Six athletes are making their third Olympic Team, 20 heading to their second Games and 11 debutants. With 23 women and 14 men, the squad features seven Olympic gold medallists and a further four who won bronze in Australian rowing’s famed ‘Hour of Power’ at Tokyo 2020.


Anna Meares, Chef de Misson for the Australian Olympic Team said: “To make an Australian Olympic Rowing Team takes incredible strength, determination and skill. From returning Olympic champions to Olympic debutants, each of these athletes have earned their place in Paris, with years of work to put them in a position to write Australia’s next chapter of Olympic rowing. Rowing Australia have built such an impressive high-performance environment and I want to thank and congratulate the entire team for helping prepare this world class team.” (Source: Australian Olympic Comittee announcement).


Our 2 Queenslanders Erik Horrie (PR1 M1x) and Tobiah Goffsassen (PR3 Mix4+) on the Australian Paralympic Team, winning medals is just one part of the job. For these Paralympic athletes, there is a broader context. They have the power to profoundly change lives.

“It does this by breaking down stereotypes around disability, confronting discrimination and demonstrating the power of diversity and inclusion. It inspires all Australians – with or without a disability – to apply our best selves to all our endeavours in life”. Said Paralympics Australia President Alison Creagh. 
“This is a squad full of talent and potential, results over the past year have been amazing and we know there is a great feeling within and around the team.”  (Source: Paralympics Australia Announcement).


On behalf of everyone at Rowing Queensland, we congratulate the entire Australian Olympic and Paralympic Rowing Teams, but in particular we acknowledge our Queenslanders. We know you will do yourself proud in Paris.


For the full team announcement, see the Rowing Australia and Australian Paralympic Team websites.




The Rowing competition will be held at the Vaires-sur-Marne Nautical Stadium from July 27 July to August 3.


Women’s Single Scull (W1x) Tara Rigney (Sydney University Boat Club)

Women’s Double Scull (W2x) Amanda Bateman (Melbourne University Boat Club), Harriet Hudson (Sydney Rowing Club)

Women’s Pair (W2-) Annabelle McIntyre OAM (Fremantle Rowing Club), Jessica Morrison OAM (Mercantile Rowing Club)

Women’s Quad Scull (W4x) Caitlin Cronin (University of Queensland Boat Club/QLD), Laura Gourley (UTS Haberfield Rowing Club), Rowena Meredith (Sydney University Boat Club), Ria Thompson (University of Queensland Boat Club)

Women's Four (W4-) Olympia Aldersey (UTS Haberfield Rowing Club), Lily Triggs (University of Queensland Boat Club/QLD), Molly Goodman (Adelaide Rowing Club), Jean Mitchell (Melbourne University Boat Club)

Women's Eight (W8+) Paige Barr (Mercantile Rowing Club), Bronwyn Cox (University of Western Australia), Sarah Hawe (Sydney Rowing Club), Giorgia Patten (West Australian Rowing Club), Georgina Rowe (UTS Haberfield Rowing Club), Lucy Stephan OAM (Melbourne University Boat Club), Jacqueline Swick (Swan River Rowing Club), Hayley Verbunt – Coxswain (Mercantile Rowing Club), Katrina Werry (Mercantile Rowing Club)

Men’s Pair (M2-) Patrick Holt (UTS Haberfield Rowing Club/QLD), Simon Keenan (Melbourne University Boat Club)

Men’s Four (M4-) Fergus Hamilton (Mercantile Rowing Club), Alexander Hill OAM (Adelaide Rowing Club), Tim Masters (UTS Haberfield Rowing Club), Jack Robertson (Mercantile Rowing Club)

Men’s Eight (M8+) Kendall Brodie – Coxswain (Sydney Rowing Club), Ben Canham (Melbourne University Boat Club), Angus Dawson (Adelaide Rowing Club / University of California Berkeley), Jack Hargreaves OAM (Sydney University Boat Club), Josh Hicks (Sydney Rowing Club), Joseph O’Brien (Sydney University Boat Club), Alexander Purnell OAM (Sydney University Boat Club), Spencer Turrin OAM (Sydney Rowing Club), Angus Widdicombe (Mercantile Rowing Club)

Men's Sweep Reserve Jackson Kench (Sydney University Boat Club)

Women's Sweep Reserve Samantha Morton (Sydney Rowing Club)

Women's Scull Reserve Kathryn Rowan (Sydney University Boat Club/QLD)



The Rowing competition will be held at the Vaires-sur-Marne Nautical Stadium between August 30 and September 1. 


PR1 Men’s Single Scull

Erik Horrie (Sydney Rowing Club/QLD)

PR3 Mixed Double Scull

Jed Altschwager (Capital Lakes Rowing Club)

Nikki Ayers (Torrens Rowing Club)

PR3 Mixed Coxed Four

Tobiah Goffsassen (Kings College Boat Club/QLD)

Thomas Birtwhistle (UTS Haberfield Rowing Club)

Susannah Lutze (Banks Rowing Club)

Alexandra Viney (Mercantile Rowing Club)
Hannah Cowap (Sydney Rowing Club)